Community Futures Newsask

Box 357, 903 - 99th Avenue, Tisdale, SK - Phone: (306) 873-4449

Image Credit: Tourism Saskatchewan/Greg Huszar Photography

YBEX - Youth Business Excellence Awards 2021


Each year for the last twenty years, Community Futures Newsask has been hosting an awards event for a business plan competition.  We believe it’s important for young people of our region to explore all of the options available to them as they consider their many choices in the next few years.  Whether the journey begins with post-secondary education at a University, a technical college or hands-on learning experience, young people need to be aware of the World of Entrepreneurship!

YBEX is a great program that provides participants with an opportunity to explore Entrepreneurship as an option to learn about starting their own business. It’s an experience that they can take with them, no matter where their life leads them. This country was built by independent, self-disciplined entrepreneurs and by participating in this event, youth will be provided with the experience and opportunity to develop these skills.


Business Plan Award

·      Business Plan Individual Category Winners

Grades 6-9

1st place winner – Amaris Grandfield from LP Miller for “Apracity”

2nd place winner – Ralph Armada from St Brieux for “Tutormatic”

3rd place winner – Sydney Wilkie from LP Miller for “Syd’s Skateboards”


Grades 10-12

1st place winner   –Emma Thomas from St Brieux for “Critter Cookies”

2nd place winner – Deondre Lummerding from St Brieux for “Lummerding Auto Salvage

3rd place winner Bennett Puetz from St Brieux for “Friends with Bennedicts”

·      Business Plan Individual Out of School Youth

1st place winner – Kassandra Dawn Spurr from Cumberland College Tisdale for “Poppers Day Care”

2nd place winner – Christine Dodds from Cumberland College Tisdale for “Chrissy’s Accounting”

·      Business Plan Group Category Winners

Grades 6 – 9

1st place winner   –  Denae Seckinger and Colbie Griffin from LP Miller for “DC Babysitting”

2nd place winner – Jackson Grieve and Daylen Derbowka from LP Miller for “Stoked Go Karts

3rd place winner: Reyner Salmond and Sarah Smith from LP Miller for “Eccentric Wear”

Grades 10-12

1st place winner   –  Madison Kovacs and Dannika Lummerding from St Brieux for “Angelic Love”

2nd place winner – Aislinn Ells and Gaby Lefebvre from St Brieux for “Brewing BS”

3rd place winner – Caylin Koeberg and Abigail Gonzales from St Brieux for “Thrifty”

·      Business Venture Category Winners

Grades 6-9

1st place winner – Amaris Grandfield of LP Miller for “Apracity”

2nd place winner – Lara Mutimer of TMSS Tisdale for “Hooked Inspirations”

Grades 10-12

1st place winner – Emma Thomas of St Brieux for “Critter Cookies”

2nd place winner – Maggie Weiman and Zoe Piatt of St Brieux for “The Barkary”

3rd place winner – Aislinn Ells and Gaby Lefebvre from St Brieux for “Brewing BS”



Special achievement awards were presented to those submissions that demonstrated exceptional effort and outstanding achievement in one or more areas.  Students qualifying for the six special achievement awards received a $50.00 cash award.

1st Special Achievement     –     Lara Mutimer from Tisdale for “Hooked Inpirations”

2nd Special Achievement    –     Tia Striekoff from St Brieux for “TJ’s Refurbished Creations

3rd Special Achievement     –     Carson Bedard and Boden Mumby from St Brieux for Addicts Building Attics

4th Special Achievement     –      Hartlee Rempel from Nipawin for “Camp Victory”

5th Special Achievement     –     Kath Poneles from St Brieux for “Slick Clean”

6th Special Achievement     –      Jaxxon Davies from St Brieux for “Jaxxon’s Outdoor Chores”

Agricultural Business Award–  Myka Brockman and Brooklyn Chabot from St Brieux for CFCC (Community Friendly Cattle Company)

Newsask Memorial Award – Amaris Grandfield from Nipawin for “Apracity”

For further information contact Connie Ruston, Executive Administrator at Community Futures Newsask, (306) 873-4449


This project is funded by many community minded businesses.  Community Futures Newsask works to achieve entrepreneurship in business & communities in North East Saskatchewan.  This project is partially funded by Western Economic Diversification Canada.


What are the YBEX Awards?

  • Awards are presented in two categories:
  • BUSINESS PLAN – Take a business idea and develop a business plan.
  • BUSINESS VENTURE – Takes the business plan a step further to actually pitch their proposal to our panel of 2-3 potential clients/investors
  • Awards are presented in three age divisions as an individual or group:
  • Grades 6 to 9;
  • Grades 10 to 12; or
  • 29 and under within our region or attending a university or technical institute with a permanent address within our region.
  • Awards to recognize and encourage the outstanding achievements of young people in Northeast Saskatchewan.

Who can Apply

  • Any student in Grade Six through Twelve attending school in the Newsask CFDC region (map of the region attached)
  • Out of School Youth 29 and under
    • Living in the Newsask CFDC region or
    • Attending secondary education outside the region with a current permanent address within the Newsask CFDC region.

The YBEX Awards are hosted and partially funded by Newsask Community Futures Development Corporation. Newsask CFDC is a non-profit corporation, partially funded by Western Economic Diversification. It is a regionally based organization, governed by a local volunteer board of directors nominated by municipalities within the region.

Past submitters may not enter the same category for the same business they have entered in a previous year. The business must be a new business idea.


co oplogo Co-ops of the Northeast


Carrot River Co-op

Government Saskatchewan
Beeland Co-op 
 proven insurance logo

Lake Country/Pineland

Prairie North

 town of tisdale Jankepng  https://beachradiosk.caVR and Beach Radio    https://www.cornerstonecu.comCornerstone Logo Colour CMYKDiamond North CU
Affinity CU


Download the following information to apply:



Recent Winners

Winners 2020: Download PDF

Winners 2019: Download PDF

Winners 2018: Download PDF

Winners 2016-2017: Download PDF

Winners 2014-2015: Download PDF

Winners 2013-2014: Download PDF

Winners 2012-2013: Download PDF


Upcoming Events

There are no events currently scheduled